Camp Notes: Science Edition

Sometimes, actual science is cooler than what kids think:

I was with a group of 8-year-olds toward the end of the day, some of whom who were getting tired, commenting on how much time was left, and not moving quickly enough. So for some reason, I thought it was a good idea to bring in special relativity.

“Hey, did you know that if you move really fast you can warp time so that time in the outside world goes by quicker?”

“That’s not possible.”

“It’s true, but you have to go super fast, almost lightning speed.”

“You’re just making stuff up.”

“Actually, Einstein discovered it.”

“No way! I bet you don’t even know Einstein.”

In their defense, I had also recently told kids that I had fairies at my house, so maybe I’m not the most reliable source.

But I think I’m going to add “alleged creator of special relativity” to my resume.

Sometimes, actual science is way less cool than what kids think:

I was having a conversation with a 5-year-old about how there used to be more planets before scientists decided to get rid of Pluto. Several minutes later, he asks:

“How did they take down Pluto, again? They used rockets to blow it up, right?”

I had to explain that Pluto was still there, and the scientists just sat in a room and decided to reclassify it as a dwarf planet. The kid was not impressed.

Leave a comment. Ask a question. I won't bite.

