The Recap

Where have I been this last week? you may or may not be wondering: Actually doing stuff. What stuff? you may or wish to know: why, let me tell you.

This past weekend was the dance department show, which was one of the most intense performances I have been in, and also one of my favorites. The first piece I was in was a contemporary ballet piece by Diane Coburn Bruning. We were in pointe shoes, knee pads and jumpsuits, jumping on our knees, slapping ourselves, and generally being fierce, mad warrior women in a scene of twisted beauty. And we had a live string quartet.

Siege  Choreography by Diane Coburn Bruning  Photo by Julieta Cervantes

Siege
Choreography by Diane Coburn Bruning
Photo by Julieta Cervantes

After an intermission, I was back onstage in a restaging of Mark Morris’ Gloria, which is one of the most musically interesting and challenging pieces I have done (he does some beautifully unexpected things with Vivaldi), and a piece that we got really emotionally attached to as a cast. It’s also a 30 minute piece with a lot of jumping, so I kind of wondered whether I would make it through tech week and three shows (spoiler: I did.)

Gloria Choreography by Mark Morris Photo by Julieta Cervantes

Gloria
Choreography by Mark Morris
Photo by Julieta Cervantes

This New York Times reviewer was not really a fan, but hey, I’ll include a link anyway, because there’s no shame in getting negative reviews. (Even if they misspell “pointe,” for instance.)

I had a little bit of a post-performance slump afterwards. I guess after all the excitement and and adrenaline calmed down, I realized that I was really exhausted. Not to mention that emotional hole that’s left when things end. And it didn’t exactly help that I had planned to finish one or more huge final papers the next day . . . that didn’t really work. I did, however, get to spend some time with my mom who was visiting for the weekend, which was really nice.

Monday was my last day of classes for the semester. That all happened fast. And slow. And probably at a moderate tempo too.

Yesterday I spent most of the day writing papers and hopping between review sessions (can’t complain–I got some really good free pizza and cupcakes out of those). In between all of that, I went out to see NYCB with a group from my ballet class, and we obnoxiously fangirled over our teacher Antonio Carmena, who was doing a principle part in Balanchine’s Symphony in Three Movements.

I think we're cute.

I think we’re cute.

I finally finished and turned in my final paper for my experimental psych class today. Our experiment may not have been the most legit (small sample probz–did you know that most college students actually don’t want to participate in a 30 minute survey with no compensation which involves doing math?), but I think the topic itself–stereotype-threat and socioeconomic status–is really interesting and important. The gist of what we found is that being reminded of socioeconomic status makes low-income students test worse and change their behavior/language to avoid stereotypes, and this sucks, and universities should care.

Now for another paper. And finals

Maybe in all the stress, I won’t have time to notice the weird, reverberating emptiness of all this being over. And I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.

One thought on “The Recap

  1. “Not to mention that emotional hole that’s left when things end”…. I know, I can totally relate to this 😦 all that preparation, so much excitement and emotion while dancing, and then its all over….

    Like

Leave a comment. Ask a question. I won't bite.

