Flakes (The Semesterly Poetry Attempt)

It’s that time of the semester again when I write poems to make up for absences in Allegra Kent’s ballet class. I think I deserve brownie points for this one because I made it rhyme and I never make stuff rhyme. In other news, it snowed.

Flakes

Every snowflake is different

I’ve heard them say

But will each still be so special

On a warmer day?

 

When the flakes turn to slush

To murky rivers on the street

A faceless soup

Of flakes once discrete?

 

Were they ever really special

If no one stopped to see

Their brilliant little moments

Of ephemerality?

Leave a comment. Ask a question. I won't bite.

