‘Murican Food?

Image

During my D.C. trip, I came across this oh-so-patriotic food truck. Of course it’s called “American Food” and has a giant bald eagle in an Uncle Sam hat on it. But the best part is the menu.

Image

Yup, that’s a falafel wrap on there. I’m not sure whether I should consider this a tragically ironic marketing fail or a cleverly subversive commentary about the meaning of American identity. Maybe both.

Anyway, by the time I got to the front of the line, they were out of falafel. Draw whatever metaphorical or sociological meaning you want from that . . .

But can we all just remember five-ish years ago when no one knew what falafel was? “It’s sort-of like a deep fried veggie burger, but not really,” was my working explanation.

Leave a comment. Ask a question. I won't bite.

